Huh?

Just as the kids seem to be growing daily so too am I, incrementally, as a teacher.  A measure of this is the general lack of a lack of disorganisation. This is the kind that used to leave me a gibbering, slobbering basket case on my journeys home last year.  At least it guaranteed a carriage to myself.

I’m not slick and never will be, slick teachers are those that have too many teddy bears in their bedroom, but I’m at least more ‘on it’.  With continuous torrential rain, the advent of wet play turned the mild-mannered class into rabid dogs. It’s at times like this I wish I walked around with a hula hoop just to keep the mob at bay.

The worst offender of climbing the walls was one child who I discovered has been given traces of red bull in his water. Now clause 5, sub-section d of the law of teaching clearly states “thou shalt step in if a child is consuming a product that could give him “wings”.

On the other hand, he’s stopped looking at me with a permanently confused face. I no longer feel the need to move him back a few rows, as it was getting disconcerting and his concentration has improved. It’s a win-win, so his secret is safe with me.

The kids excelled themselves with their ridiculousness. One child approached me and looked as if he was attempting an Elvis Presley lip curl. “It hurts when I do this” he moaned. “Don’t do it?” I suggested. Problem solved, but that was one of the easier ones.

Another child got his hand stuck in a playground drain. We managed to remove it before any tabloids got sniff of it and christened him “Drain Boy”.  One poor girl turned up looking like the Toxic Avenger after her parents had used carpet cleaner and she’d rolled on it. The reaction was bad enough that I’ve since received word she can’t go out in daylight.  Is this how superheroes are formed?

When the rain subsided they ran screaming into the playground. I don’t have my finger on the pulse of the games children play these days. The ‘water hazard masks’, ‘fleabag monkey face’, ‘Oggy and the cockroaches’ and ‘The unruly midget pigs’ all sound like death metal bands but they’re in fact all games that my class play. I only intervene if the games are ‘Burn stuff’ or ‘Lynch the teacher.’

To end the day I read in one boy’s homework that for dinner he consumed “sausages, onion rice, ketchup, nine chicken wings, fried peas, two eggs, two hash browns, nutella on toast, grapes and orange juice.” He then settled down to watch his favourite show ‘Man versus Food’. Boy versus food is clearly no contest.

4 thoughts on “Huh?

  1. Teach a Teacher Nonprofit

    I enjoyed your blog. I would never have survived as a primary school teacher. Teachers are the SUPERHEROS. They deserve much more respect … and pay. Especially since “parents” have dumped much of their responsibility (of teaching and raising their child) squarely on the shoulders of teachers. Good job. You care! You get an (A) for the end of the quarter! It’s difficult (with all the pressures that teachers have today …. and trying to balance your life) to remember “Today is a new day, make it count.” Too bad it’s not that easy … or maybe it is! If you’d like to continue teaching and do some learning for yourself…come give us a hand for a week or two. Didnt you always say that you wanted to travel on your huge long lengthy months of summer vacation? HA! Check us out at http://www.teachateacher.org and here on wordpress. You could gain a new perspective and share even more insight with your students. I believe you might find it to be a win win win situation for everyone! thanks, mac

    Reply
      1. Teach a Teacher Nonprofit

        Almost ….. But without a car! We live at the foot of the Andes here in Peru. A million miles from the rat race and even further from pizza delivery damn-it! Life here is pretty simple in every way you can compare it. I spent probably too much of my life fighting …. but… that has allowed me to live in one of the most beautiful places on earth and given me the time to give back something. Which … at this point in my life … I believe is more important than chasing other (dreams) per se. We have hot water and real floors unlike all of our neighbors. I hope we can gently and effectively teach them they can have a better future through education. Not trying to teach them Eng or change their religion or culture. Just trying to realistically do what we can to affect their quality of life…… after my morning coffee!

Leave a Reply

