Enter sadman

My long daily commute is a little etched on my features. I run on around 30% of energy every day and am beginning to resemble someone who’s permanently received bad news. So, it was eventually flattering to have a leaflet stuffed into my hand with the word ‘SLAG’ written on it (it stands for ‘Sexy Ladies and Gentlemen’ apparently).

It was a flyer for the Freshers’ Ball and one such self-appointed ‘Slag’ was frothing at the mouth in anticipation. He reminded me of the character from the film ‘Dazed and Confused’ who utters the line ‘that’s what I love about these high school girls, man. I get older, they stay the same age’. He was a PE teacher and must have qualified around 150 years ago, when the only criteria were that you had to be ‘over 13 years old’ and ‘not subject to any body infirmity’.

The course has shifted up a gear and the scale of our task as future teachers was given some perspective. We watched a factual video with some surprising statistics. For example, 5% of the population in China with the highest IQ’s is greater than the total population of the UK. They have more gifted and talented students than we have students. Oh, also that the United Kingdom had the strongest education system…in 1900.

Last week was more fun. We watched an enthusiastic Lecturer fight back tears as she read the last paragraph of ‘The Railway Children’ and practiced group voice exercises. It was odd standing along 100 other students repeatedly saying ‘Boo Bah’ ‘Zing’ and ‘Bibble Babble’. The guy next to me definitely needed help with his elocution. I could have sworn he told me a member of our course was ‘sinister’, when in fact he was a ‘solicitor’. Although these words are not mutually exclusive.

We’re heading off to Dorset this weekend for some group bonding exercises. This does mean I’ll miss the Freshers’ Ball, so to compensate I’ll hire a tux and slow dance with myself. I only hope I’m not sharing a room with the guy on the course who’s a former lobotomist. If he gets drunk I’ll definitely have to sleep with one eye open.

Leave a Reply

