Just keep going

Today the School dressed as characters from books. This was also the day of a meeting about Zak. So there I was, sat with Harry Potter, Where’s Wally? and the Cat in the Hat. It was difficult to take anyone seriously.

They thanked me for my efforts and reminded me I’m supporting a child with a severe emotional and behavioural disorder. The problem I have, is tolerating Zak’s petulance and antagonism until the end of term. I made him into a makeshift Wolverine and secretly hoped he’d forget who he was at some point, and pick his nose. I placed red tape around his head so he could look like a Ninja, while wishing I could tape it over his mouth.

Still for all that, who at the end of the day was waiting for me outside the School Gates, keen to walk part of the way home with me?.  As Zak and I walked along, the sun came out and I remembered we’ll both be part of a choir performing at the Royal Festival Hall next month. He might face the wrong way some of the time, but I hope he enjoys and appreciates the experience.

This is a poem by Amanda Carter, for anyone that needs reminding of why we do, what we do;

If a child lives with criticism,
he learns to condemn.
If a child lives with hostility,
he learns to fight.
If a child lives with ridicule,
he learns to be shy.
If a child lives with shame,
he learns to feel guilty.
If a child lives with tolerance,
he learns to be patient.
If a child lives with encouragement,
he learns confidence.
If a child lives with praise,
he learns to appreciate.
If a child lives with fairness,
he learns justice.
If a child lives with security,
he learns to have faith.
If a child lives with approval,
he learns to like himself.
If a child lives with acceptance and friendship,
He learns to find love
in the world.

One thought on “Just keep going

  1. Pingback: Small fry « Are you an alien? Experiences of a male Primary School teacher

Leave a Reply

