Angels and Demons

Encouraging news from the Metro magazine, that states one in three children think their teacher is an alien!. So we are not alone, and neither am I. I’m even more intrigued by a story a teacher told me today. She has a child in her class who gets emotional about numbers!. She finds the number 3 endearing, 4 seductive, the number 5 immature etc. I assume she’d run for the hills if she ever saw 666.

It says something about Zak’s behaviour, when he’s asked to leave a class on “Social Skills”. Acting like a wounded tiger afterwards, he circled me, as he often does, protesting his innocence. Looked at from above, we could have been a human representation of the earth circling the sun.

Zak did not have a particularly sunny disposition all day. He was aggressive towards the woman from SCAN who was there to test him, then wanted to talk about cancer during lunchtime. I suspect he’s going to one day be standing behind me while I blow out my birthday candles, telling me there is a serial killer on the loose.

He even started slapping himself, and not in the less threatening Bavarian fashion. Humour is a defence mechanism and of course, I found this distressing, comforted him and reported it.

We finished the day though in good spirits, with a good old game of ‘Hangman’ . Playing it with a dyslexic child was never going to be straightforward, but I took comfort in the fact that if Zak was an ordinary well-behaved lad what would that do for my blog stats?. Excuse my ‘gallows’ humour…

2 thoughts on “Angels and Demons

  1. Jo

    Just wanted to say ..I love your blog …I work as a 1-1 TA and can identify with a lot of what you face daily.Its good to keep a sense of humour and when I am having a tough day with my pupil I think of your days so far and it makes me smile :)

    Reply
  2. twink lesbian

    I’ll right away seize your rss feed as I can’t to find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Please allow me realize in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

