Stick and the carrot

A disgruntled teacher was telling me at lunch time about a child in her class, “she is so lazy, barely does a scratch of work all day”. I asked her if there were any techniques she could recommend to find out when a child is being lazy or just lacking self-confidence. “Well” she said “if you shout at them, and they cry, they are probably just lacking confidence”. Well, now I know…

Then again, who am I, on my first day, to criticize my peers. After all, I spent the afternoon assembly, reclining on the radiator and farting almost continuously. It was the heavy lunch of lentils to blame.

Leave a Reply

